Review: Harlow & Fox

edit8

I am finally getting round to writing a review of this beautiful set I won in Sweet Nothing’s giveaway a few months ago. Harlow & Fox very generously offered the winner the chance to spend up to £300 in their online store, and over the moon doesn’t even begin to describe how happy I was when I received the email from Sweets to tell me I had lucked out. Harlow & Fox have been on my when I’m a famous writer/gain a sugar daddy/daddi/mommy wishlist since their inception as a brand and I still can’t believe I actually own a set by them.

I was torn between the Serena Rose collection and Viola collection but ended up requesting the Viola longline bra and Eleanor French Knickers after I realised they came in the same colourway. I’ve been after a pair of their French Knickers ever since Karolina Laskowska raved about them in a post for The Lingerie Addict, so that was an easy decision to make as it’s rare to find French knickers that match a full bust longline bra. As H&F create such luxury pieces I decided against anything too “everyday”. I wanted to truly treat myself to something that didn’t look like most of my other lingerie, something that could be worn for extra special occasions or when I was in need of an extra indulgent self-care day. The items I chose took the total to £309, of which I offered to pay the extra, but Leanna of H&F very kindly told me not to worry about it. Leanna was also incredibly prompt with all her emails and kept me up to date with the entire process.

edit7

I won’t go into heavy duty fit and construction details, if you want more information Sweet Nothings has done several really really helpful reviews on her blog. However I will say that I was not expecting to love the fit of this bra quite this much. My body shape isn’t the easiest for bra sizing. Particularly when it comes to longline bras! I have wide rooted, close set, projected breasts with incredible low density. No matter what size I buy in other brands I tend to spill out and migrate a lot during the day and find underwires often cut in uncomfortably under my arms. However, when I first put the bra on my initial thought, after: oh my god I look like a fairy princess I’m gonna cry this is the most beautiful underwear ever, was: holy crap, this bra actually fitsLike, perfectly encapsulating breast tissue, providing adequate but natural looking support and shaping fits.

Also, while I have a relatively small underbust measurement compared to my breasts (currently around 29″ to 37″), my upper abdominal instantly squidges out below my underbust by a good few inches. For this reason I went for a 32E rather than my usual 30F, seeing as the bra was longline and I was worried the silk and lace wouldn’t be overly stretchy. I didn’t need to worry, I could definitely have managed a 30 back as H&F clearly have their sizing charts well worked out. On the other hand, the 32E is structured enough that it doesn’t slip around on me and yet is really comfortable for all day wear despite the boning in the sides and sturdy underwires.

edit4

As I am only 5’3″ the longline does come pretty far down on my body and actually meets the top of the French knickers. I actually love that this makes it look like a little outfit but I definitely wanted to point this out that this is only because of my very short torso, and not to be an expected fit for taller people or those with longer torsos. The French knickers also have a pleasant amount of give in the silk and are wonderfully comfortable as well as beautifully soft against my skin. I asked for these in a size Small which is bang on for my 29″ waist. Literally, the only downside is that I’m forever paranoid I’m going to start my period in them as I have an incredibly irregular cycle.

I am honestly so happy with these items. I’ve only heard good things about H&F from other bloggers and now I know why. I would wholeheartedly recommend these to anyone looking for special occasion/indulgent underwear if you fall into the size range. And if you don’t it’s always worth an enquiry as H&F offer a bespoke service. If (and when!) I have the money, I won’t have a second thought about treating myself to another set.

edit2

 

Photography by Ed Curley

 

…..

 

Also, just wanted to include note on the fact that I’ve had these images since May and have just been waiting for writing inspiration to hit, which has been hard going. I’ve realised that I’m just not overly enthusiastic about review writing, especially when there are so many other really talented bloggers out there who know far more about fit and construction than I do, and who represent all sorts of niches for body shapes and types. As well as this, there is always a pressure to wait until you have a new set before being able to write up a review, and as someone who works two jobs (one minimum wage and one voluntary) I just don’t have the funds or time for regular reviews.

And so… expect more photo series and creative writing from me. A friend and I are currently developing an e-zine exploring spirituality and sexuality, therefore a lot of my energy will be going into that. I’m very excited about the evolution my blog has been undergoing this year and I’m looking forward to developing a new platform for more adventurous writing and photography, as well as the chance to collaborate and work along with other people!

Leave a Reply

